Adventure Begins

In the early of 2013, I finished my 10-yrs career in banking, and decided to go back to Taiwan, my sweet home, to pursue another adventure in my life. (It is MY Hand in the picture)

在2013年初,我結束了十年的銀行業職涯,決定回到我甜蜜的故鄉,台灣,去追尋人生另一個大冒險 (照片上是我的手喔)。

To be honest, I was not sure about what to do at first.  I spent my first 3 month at my family’s wine cellar, trying to figure out a better method of storage for those vintages (some of which are very old and rare).  I got plenty of time to read all these wine/ whisky bibles and get drunk with tons of samples.  One night, I was invited to attend a whisky event where one young man, a Scotch whisky blender actually, made a presentation of a single malt whisky from his hometown.  When he started to show some slides of the view of distillery, it struck me that this is exactly what I want to do.  I want to introduce something really great to the world, just like Scotch people do the same for their scotch whisky.  Something could only be found and produced in Taiwan, just like Scotch whisky could only be produced in Scotland/ Champagne could only be made in Champange. My answer is Taiwanese Tea.

很坦白地說,我一開始並不確定要從哪裡開始。我花了三個月的時間的在家族酒窖裡整理庫存,試著將這些陳年老酒重新歸位。同時,我有很多時間去研讀葡萄酒/威士忌的相關書籍,而且還有一堆樣品酒可以試喝。有一天晚上,我受邀請加一個酒商辦的餐會,席間,他們邀請了一個年輕的蘇格蘭釀酒師來跟我們分享一款單一麥芽威士忌。當他開始放威士忌蒸餾廠風景的投影片的時候,我突然有一種強烈的感覺,這就是我想要做的事情。我想要把一些很特別,只能在台灣生產製造的東西推廣到全世界,就像蘇格蘭人推廣他們的威士忌一樣。而台灣茶,就是我的解答。              

Hey dude, Thanks for the inspiration although I really can’t remember your name.

謝謝你的啟發!雖然我忘記你的名字

The decision is made and I am planing next step.  My plan is to go to all the famous tea plantation regions in Taiwan, to talk to local tea growers/ manufacturers.  I know this may not be the best way to do business.  But what I really want is to see the places and the people who grow tea.  After all, buying tea is all about a trust issue, and what i wanna do is to minimize the risk for me and for the people who will be my future clients, just as what I did in the banking field.

下了決定之後,就是開始計畫下一部。我的計畫是到台灣各知名茶區,去拜訪茶農/製茶師傅。我知道這或許不是最好的做生意方式。但是我真正想做的是親自去看生產茶的地方,與生產茶的人交談。畢竟,買茶是講究信任的事情,我想要做的是為自己以及未來會向我買茶的人降低風險,就像之前我在銀行業做的一樣。

Below is famous tea regions of Taiwan.  I will update my blog with my trip to those tea plantation region.  Next one is “Min Jien”, the biggest tea plantation region in Taiwan.

下圖是台灣著名的茶產區。之後幾篇部落格,就是以我們茶鄉之旅為主。下一個目的地,南投名間,台灣最大的茶產區。

5 thoughts on “Adventure Begins

  1. Pingback: Why artisanal tea usually stays in local? (A point of view from Taiwan perspectives) | TALK ABOUT TEA

  2. Pingback: Why Do I Write about Tea? | TALK ABOUT TEA

  3. Pingback: Taiwan Tea Trip- Mingjian Town | TALK ABOUT WINE & TEA

    • 我的第一個留言!好感動!!!這幾年人在海外,看到台灣經濟走下坡,社會低迷不振,很多人在嚷嚷著:鬼島要沉了,大家塊陶阿!心裡面一直有這樣一個聲音:那些要跑要逃的都走吧!但是,我想要回去,僅管力量很小,也希望為台灣做一點甚麼。我相信還有很多人像我一樣,還有希望,大家一起加油!

Leave a Reply

